eResearch Databases: Local History

Back
  • Brooklyn Newsstand: Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
    Search the historical Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper and view images of articles published between 1841 and 1955.
  • Building-Structure Inventory Files
    This is a collection of local historic building inventories
  • Long Island Historical Journal
    Website contains index and full-text articles of the Long Island Historical Journal(1988 to 2008).
  • Newsday (1940 - 1984)
    Search Newsday's full text articles from 1940 to 1984. All articles can be printed or emailed.
  • Newsday (1985 - present)
    Search Newsday's full text articles back to 1985. This database covers the three main editions - Nassau, Suffolk and City. All articles can be printed or emailed.
  • Obituaries Index
    This is an index of obituaries published in local newspapers (Ronkonkoma Review, Brookhaven Review and the Islip Bulletin). Many of the obituaries were added to our computerized Local History Vertical File. Contact Adult Reference Department for information.
  • Old Fulton New York Post Cards
    Search over 26,108,000 old New York historical newspapers. Included in the collection are issues of Suffolk County News from 1900 to 1986 (with some gaps).
  • Suffolk Historic Newspapers
    A collection of local newspapers with full text articles published at the late 19th century. Newspapers included are South Side Signal, The Long Islander, The Long Island Traveler, The Corrector, The Mid-Island Mail, The Port Jefferson Echo, Sag Harbor Express, and Suffolk County News and others.