eResearch Databases for Kids: English

Back
  • ABCmouse (Home Access)
    ABCmouse.com helps kids learn to read through phonics, and teaches lessons in math, social studies, art, music, and much more. For kids age 2 to Kindergarten. First time users, enter your library card and pin number (defaults to the last 4 digits of your phone number), then create a username and a password to track your progress. Returning users, enter your library card information and pin, then click Log In in the top right-hand corner.
  • ABCmouse (In-Library Use)
    ABCmouse.com helps kids learn to read through phonics, and teaches lessons in math, social studies, art, music, and much more. For kids age 2 to Kindergarten.
  • Gale In Context: Elementary
    Created for students in kindergarten through grade five, this database provides information on current events, arts, sciences, health, people, government, sports, history and more.
  • Gale Literature
    Gale Literature searches across multiple Gale databases to find research articles on literary topics. You can research authors and their works, literary movements, and genres, and find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
  • Literary Reference Center
    Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes
  • Literature Criticism Online
    Full-text criticism for American, British, and world literature from the 19th century to today. [This is full text of NCLC, TCLC and CLC criticism series, found in print in the library.]
  • LitFinder
    LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database alsoincludes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
  • Miss Humblebee's Academy
    Miss Humblebee's Academy is an award-winning, online kindergarten-readiness solution for children ages 3 to 6. The program lays the foundation for a lifetime of learning success, building strength in core subject areas: language and literacy, math, science and social studies, art and music, social and emotional learning, and fitness. The curriculum is based on standards from the U.S. Department of Education, Head Start Early Learning Outcomes Framework, Common Core State Standards, and research from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
  • Novelist K-8 Plus
    Find readalikes for your favorite fiction and nonfiction titles, get lists of books in a series, or read up on your favorite author.
  • Something About The Author Online
    Read in-depth profiles of more than 12,000 children's and young adult authors and illustrators. Each essay explores an author's personal life, writings, adaptations, and works in progress.