eResearch Databases: Genealogy

Back
  • American Ancestors (In-library use only)
    A collection of databases created by the New England Genealogical Society. (In-library use only)
  • Ancestry Library Edition (In-library use only)
    This comprehensive genealogy resource allows users to search and view original records from the Federal Censuses & records from city directories, Social Security Death Index, passenger lists & more.
  • Brooklyn Newsstand: Brooklyn Historical Newspapers (includes Brooklyn Daily Eagle)
    Search historical Brooklyn newspapers (including the Brooklyn Daily Eagle) and view images of articles published between 1809 and 1999.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    Search and view historical newspapers from selected states, including full page images of New York's The Sun (1880 to 1910) and The New York Tribune (1880 to 1922).
  • FamilySearch.org
    FamilySearch.org is a free website that contains many worldwide digitized records. In order to view the records, you will need to create a free registration.
  • Find My Past (In-library use only)
    Contains millions of records including UK parish records, census records, Irish records, British military records and New York Roman Catholic parish records. (In-library use only)
  • Fold3
    A database of American military, naturalization, and federal census records.
  • HeritageQuest Online
    Genealogists can view digital images of U.S. Federal Census from 1790 to 1940 as well as digitized images of over 25,000 local history books.
  • Historical Vital Records: The New York City Municipal Archives
    Historical Vital Records of NYC provides access to millions of digitized birth, death and marriage records dating from 1855 to 1949. Search, browse, download or order certified copies from the Municipal Archives’ vital records collection.
  • MyHeritage Library Edition
    Collection of genealogy records from around the world including censuses, passenger lists, family histories, and more.
  • New York Times Historical
    Search the complete run of the historical New York Times with full text page images from every issue starting from the paper's inception in 1851 through 3 years ago.
  • Old Fulton New York Post Cards
    Search over 26,108,000 old New York historical newspapers. Included in the collection are issues of Suffolk County News from 1900 to 1986 (with some gaps).
  • Passenger and Immigration Lists Index
    Passenger and Immigration Lists Index (PILI) covers more than 5 million names of persons who immigrated to North American between the late 1500s and mid 20th Century.
  • Suffolk Historic Newspapers
    A collection of local newspapers with full text articles published at the late 19th century. Newspapers included are South Side Signal, The Long Islander, The Long Island Traveler, The Corrector, The Mid-Island Mail, The Port Jefferson Echo, Sag Harbor Express, and Suffolk County News and others.